Finding Support from Women Entrepreneurs

Sometimes, I don’t exactly know what I think until I read what I’ve said or written in someone else’s media.  Such is the case with this interview with TheNextWomen, the London-based media startup that bills itself as the “business magazine for female Internet heroes.”

The site describes itself as. . .

the first Women’s Internet Business Magazine, with a focus on startups and growing businesses, led, founded or invested in by women. We bring news on business, events, funding and tech from a female angle and interview and profile Female Business Heroes, make them notable and quotable.

We are the female Business Week, the female Techcrunch and the business Red.

We [are] compiling a database on female founders, CxO’s and VC’s of internet companies.

Among the site’s heroes (thank, you, God, that they haven’t reclaimed that horrific feminist label “sheroes”) are women as diverse as Esther Dyson, Catherine Fake, Arianna Huffington, and Queen Elizabeth.

But enough about them. . . this was an interview with me.  Site founder Simone Brummelhuis’s questions were wide ranging, but the one that jumped out, asked what European women entrepreneurs can learn from their U.S. counterparts.

My simple-to-say-but-apparently-complex-to-do answer:

There are still far too few women who take the path of technology entrepreneur. No doubt there are many subtle and obvious reasons for that path.

I think at base, though, the best thing women entrepreneurs can do for each other is to challenge them to perform at exceptionally high standards, to create businesses with meaning and impact.

If women drive women to be the best entrepreneurs they can be, supporting their unique talents and limitations, then I do think we’ll see more women choose the path of startup CEO.

The fact is that women entrepreneurs do support other women entrepreneurs.  And we need to because frankly we often don’t get the kind of support we need from women who are outside the startup world and don’t understand the life choices that entrepreneurship requires.

Building a business is hard work (for women and men) and there is really no “balancing” of work and personal life in the earliest days of a company.  We need strong support systems: of other entrepreneurs, of family members, of our friends, and of communities both inside and outside the startup world.

Which reminds me: Thank you, Nancy, Mom, and all those friends I don’t see often enough.  You all, as much as my colleagues inside the company, allow me to do what I do.

4 Comments »

  1. Love how your candor is intertwined with humor and then expertly blended into a really solid, valid point.
    As a female entrepreneur traveling many months of the year while simultaneously raising two children under the age of five, it’s reassuring to know that other women share my plight – or, as I see it, fortune. I love what I do. And how lucky that my children have the ability to see their mother breaking boundaries in a male-dominated industry. Is there any better inspiration for a young girl than seeing her own mom making changes in the world?
    I recently saw Cindy Novotny, author of “Living With No Balance and Loving it” speak and her message to all of us is that balance isn’t for everyone…a life spent at the spa isn’t always the key to happiness. Some of us thrive on the nonstop stimulation and pressure of building a business.
    Thanks for the fantastic message of support and the gentle reminder that we all need to challenge each other in order to achieve our highest potential.
    Midori Connolly

  2. I think you make some valid points

  3. Chrissy said

    As a female entrepreneur , you need to know how to work on yourself before you can take on your business. I had to read up on this because I didn’t really know what this meant or saw what other people would see. So I found this great book called, “Take the E Out of Ego & GO!” It’s written by Jerry and Donna Goven and it is a chuckle and a half; it’s the most fun I have had working on myself for a long time. As a business owner, I deal with people all day, and I never thought of using such a simple approach to harmonious communication.

  4. Chrissy said

    I am glad I stopped by again today. I was checking my last comment and noticed that I had spelled the author’s name wrong. The correct spelling is Donna and Jerry Govan.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

